

## Whitney North Seymour Award Established by the Federal Bar Council in 1987

The Council presents an annual award at its Winter Meeting for "outstanding public service by a private practitioner." The award is named in honor of the late Whitney North Seymour, a leading member of the bar who served as president of the American Bar Association, the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, the Legal Aid Society, and in countless other major positions of leadership at the bar and in the community. Except for a brief tour as Assistant Solicitor General of the United States early in his career, Mr. Seymour made all of his many contributions to the public good while in private practice, in the course of which he exemplified the highest standards of excellence. The award is in the form of a barrister's wig case, similar to the type utilized by barristers in Great Britain and to a case acquired by Whitney North Seymour at the time he was made an honorary bencher of Lincoln's Inn on the occasion of the first meeting of the American Bar Association held in London.

2020 – Evan Chesler	2003 – Frederic S. Nathan
2019 – Ernest J. Collazo	2002 – Evan A. Davis
2018 – Carey R. Dunne	2001 – Bernard W. Nussbaum
2017 – Roy L. Reardon	2000 – Richard J. Davis
2016 – George A. Davidson	1999 – Hon. Marvin E. Frankel
2015 – Samuel W. Seymour	1998 – Robert B. Fiske
2014 – Frank H. Wohl	1997 – Robert MacCrate
2013 – David R. Schaefer	1996 – Dean John D. Feerick
2012 – Patricia M. Hynes	1995 – Robert M. Kaufman
2011 – William F. Plunkett, Jr.	1994 – Hon. Conrad K. Harper
2010 – Audrey Strauss	1993 – Thomas W. Evans
2009 – Michael A. Cooper	1992 – Amb. Morris B. Abram
2008 – Steven M. Edwards	1991 – Frederick A.O. Schwartz, Jr.
2007 – Bettina B. Plevan	1990 – Robert B. McKay
2006 – Kenneth R. Feinberg	1989 – Joseph H. Flom
2005 – Michael F. Armstrong	1988 – Alexander D. Forger
2004 – James F. Stapleton	1987 – Arthur L. Liman